Following knockout rounds and a round robin format for the Women’s competition, the finals of the club’s first ever HSTC Padel Championships were held over the weekend of the 25th and 26th November.

There were some fabulous matches played in very chilly temperatures, with enthusiastic support from a well wrapped up crowd!

Saturday 25th November

On Saturday in the Mixed final on Swiss court, Carolyn Rothwell and Mika Brown played Ann Welch and Andy Davis. Carolyn and Mika won 6-2, 6-2 with a strong performance to take the title.

Over on Trini court in the Men’s Plate final, Matt Owens and Jack Bartholomew played superbly and won 6-1, 6-4 against Glenn Plews and David Wrigglesworth to clinch the title.

The winning pairs Carolyn and Mika and Matt and Jack then received their medals and trophies in a presentation from Chris Dight, HSTC Director (Operation and Facilities) in the warmth of Break Point. The new eye-catching wooden trophies were designed and made by Paul at Trophies and Engraving, Valley Mount, Harrogate. The set of trophies will be reused for future tournaments.

Sunday 26th November

On Sunday the Women’s final took place involving the top two pairs following a round robin tournament that had taken place over the preceding few weeks. Anna Frearson and Chantal Wilkinson came from behind in both sets to win 6-3, 6-4 against Carolyn Rothwell and Liz Hickling.

The Women’s final was then followed on the Swiss court by a very closely contested Men’s final that was decided by a Championship tiebreak at one set all. Andy Davis and Henry Brogatzki (pictured above) held their nerve to win 6-4, 3-6, 10-6 against Chris Reynolds and Will Rogers.

The winning pairs Anna and Chantal and Andy and Henry received their trophies in a presentation on Swiss Court by Nigel Bentley, HSTC Company Secretary.

Well done to the winners and thank you to everyone who took part in HSTC’s first ever Padel tournament. We look forward to even more players taking part next year!

Very many thanks also to Chantal and Anna for their superb organisation.

Pictured above

Clockwise from top left: Matt Owens and Jack Bartholomew / Glenn Plews and David Wrigglesworth (Plate); Andy Davis and Ann Welch / Carolyn Rothwell and Mika Brown; Chantal Wilkinson and Anna Frearson / Liz Hickling and Carolyn Rothwell; Will Rogers and Chris Reynolds / Andy Davis and Henry Brogatzki.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.